Posts

Showing posts from October, 2014

Top Ten Movies To Watch To Get In The Halloween Spirit

Image
Hi everyone! Welcome to Top Ten Tuesday, which is hosted over at The Broke and The Bookish. This week's topic is Top Ten Movies To Watch To Get In The Halloween Spirit.





1. The Nightmare Before Christmas (1993)

I am a huge fan of Tim Burton. I have loved every film of his that I've seen, but this film is an all-time favourite of mine. Every Halloween and Christmas me and my family watch it together.





2. Hocus Pocus (1993)

Hocus Pocus is a cult classic Halloween film that centres around 3 witches in Salem, Massachusetts.





3. Fun Size (2012)

This is a quite-new film that I happened to stumble across whilst browsing on Netflix one day. It follows a bunch of teenagers looking for Wren's (Victoria Justice) baby brother on Halloween night.




4. Carrie (2013)

This is a remake of the famous 1976 film, starring Chloƫ Grace Moretz and Julianne Moore this time around. I actually haven't seen it, but it sounds very interesting.





5. The Addams Family (1991)

I have been watching this film for years…

Amity by Micol Ostow: Book review

Image
Book title/ Author: Amity by Micol Ostow Publisher/ Year: August 26th 2014 Egmont USA Genre: YA Horror Series: No Pages: 368 Source/ Format: eARC Edelweiss (Thanks Edelweiss/ Egmont USA!) Rating: 3 stars out of 5
*This review may contain spoilers!*
Synopsis
For fans of Stephen King and American Horror Story, a gruesome thriller suggested by the events of the Amityville Horror. Inspired by a true-crime story of supernatural happenings and gory murders, Amity spans two generations and beyond to weave an overlapping, interconnected tale of terror, insanity, danger, and death.
My review


This book had a nice writing style - it made it easy for me to whiz through it, which is always a plus for me nowadays. The book alternates chapters between Gwen and Connor, and is set 10 years apart. These two teenagers both move into the ancient Amity house, and seem to be hugely affected by things that go on throughout.

When I found out Amity was based on a true crime story, I immediately did a little bit of researc…

Top Ten New Series I Want To Start

Image
Hi everyone! Welcome to Top Ten Tuesday, which is hosted over at The Broke and The Bookish. This week's topic is Top Ten New Series I Want To Start.


1. The Grisha series by Leigh Bardugo
I'm ashamed to say that I haven't started this series yet. It seems to have been loved by everyone in the book blogging community, and as I own the first book, I plan on starting it very soon.
2. The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer
One of my favourite types of books is fairytale retellings - which is what this whole series is about! Again, this series has been praised by just about everyone, which makes me really want to read it.
3. The Syrena Legacy by Anna Banks
I have never read a book about mermaids, yet it is a topic I am quite interested in. This seems like the place to start if you're looking to delve into the world of mermaid fiction.
4. The Sweet Trilogy by Wendy Higgins
Now, I don't really know what this series is about, but I feel like it's one of those that everyone gives…

Beastly by Alex Flinn: Book review

Image
Book title/ Author:Beastly by Alex Flinn Publisher/ Year: September 23rd 2008 Harper Teen Genre: YA Paranormal Series: No Pages: 300 Source/ Format: Paperback Bought with my own money Rating: 4 stars out of 5
*This review may contain spoilers!*
Synopsis
I am a beast. A beast. Not quite wolf or bear, gorilla or dog, but a horrible new creature who walks upright - a creature with fangs and claws and hair springing from every pore. I am a monster. You think I'm talking fairy tales? No way. The place is New York City. The time is now. It's no deformity, no disease. And I'll stay this way forever - ruined - unless I can break the spell.
My review
DISCLAIMER: Even though he changed his name, I will be calling Kyle/Adrian Kyle in this review, as that was his original name.
At first, it was quite hard to get into the book as I was doing the exact opposite that I normally do. Usually, I read the book before watching the film, and compare the film against the book. However this time I was compa…

Top Ten Places Books Have Made Me Want To Visit

Image
Hi everyone! Welcome to Top Ten Tuesday, which is hosted over at The Broke and The Bookish. This week's topic is Top Ten Places Books Have Made Me Want To Visit.


1. Hogwarts (The Harry Potter series)
Hogwarts has been my dream place to visit ever since I was a little kid. I know it is a fictional place but that hasn't stopped me from lusting after it for years.
2. New York (The Mortal Instruments series)
So many different books have made me want to visit New York, but I chose this series in particular because it has been a favourite of mine for years. New York is no.1 on my list of places to visit, simply due to the fact I believe I will love it.
3. Yorkshire (Withering Tights)
I didn't think this book would make me want to visit Yorkshire, but all the scenes talking about the dales made me want to take a trip there.
4. China (Chinese Cinderella)
Traditional Chinese culture fascinates me so much and I would love to experience it through my own eyes.
5. Toronto (Scott Pilgrim's …

Since You've Been Gone by Morgan Matson: Book review

Image
Book title/ Author: Since You've Been Gone by Morgan Matson Publisher/ Year: July 3rd 2014 Simon & Schuster Children's Genre: YA Contemporary Series: No Pages: 449 Source/ Format: Paperback Bought with my own money Rating: 5 stars out of 5
*This review may contain spoilers!*
Synopsis
It was Sloane who yanked Emily out of her shell and made life 100% interesting. But right before what should have been the most epic summer, Sloane just... disappears. All she leaves behind is a to-do list. On it, thirteen Sloane-inspired tasks that Emily would normally never try. But what if they could bring her best friend back?
My review
Since You've Been Gone has received nothing but praise since it came out and I wanted to see if I shared the same opinions as everyone else. I'm proud of myself as normally I shy away from hyped-up books, but this time I took the plunge and went for it.
This book tells the tale of a girl, who would normally only be the sidekick, having the limelight for once an…

Top Ten Books For Readers Who Like Character Driven Novels

Image
Hi everyone! Welcome to Top Ten Tuesday, which is hosted over at The Broke and The Bookish. This week's topic is Top Ten Books For Readers Who Like Character Driven Novels.


1. The Fault In Our Stars by John Green
A post about character-driven novels would not be complete without The Fault In Our Stars. Hazel and Gus are some of the strongest characters I have ever read about.
2. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
Katniss is arguably the most powerful and influential YA heroine to have ever graced us. Now whether you agree with that or not, you have to admit she is pretty amazing. I wrote a Before I Blogged I Read on this, which is here if you'd like to read that.
3. Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro
This was such an influential book for me and part of that is because of the extraordinary characters.
4. City of Bones by Cassandra Clare
Clary is so driven in this book, as well as all the others. I admire her in this, how she is determined to work everything out.
5. Harry Potter and the …

Tin Lily by Joann Swanson: Book review

Image
Book title/ Author: Tin Lily by Joann Swanson Publisher/ Year: July 6th 2014 Cranky Owl Books Genre: YA Contemporary Series: No Pages: 235 Source/ Format: eARC Netgalley (Thanks Netgalley/ Cranky Owl Books!) Rating: 4 stars out of 5
I received this from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This in no way affected my opinion.
*This review may contain spoilers!*
Synopsis
Just because you survive doesn't mean you’re alive.  One moment fifteen-year-old Lily Berkenshire is sitting in her bedroom, favourite song blaring through her earbuds, history book open on her lap. The next, her alcoholic father is shooting and killing her mother. Then he’s pointing the gun at Lily and pulling the trigger. Click. He’s out of bullets. For now. 
When she moves to Seattle to live with her aunt, Lily retreats into peaceful, dissociative trances to escape the shattered nightmare that is her life. Soon, though, she discovers a beautiful boy who wants to take her out, a therapist who wants to help her heal a…